• May 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • © 2013 Sigman Shapiro All Rights Reserved

The Rabbit’s Cry

Before I heard the rabbit’s cry
the wildness in my youthful blood
drove me out into the nearby fields
to prowl the brush as though I was a wolf
to play a cruel game with death
to prove I was a man

When I heard the rabbit’s cry
I learned of terror and despair
in an instant it stopped my breath
set my hands to shake
and filled me with a certainty of shame
that stripped me bare and broke my heart

Because I heard the rabbit’s cry
it lives in me, deep in my core
and I will hear it all my life
whispering I’m no predator
reminding me I’m prey

3 Responses

  1. The last time I hunted, off Tassajara Road near Dublin CA, we shot jackrabbits for the fun of it. I made my best shot ever but I also heard the rabbit’s cry. No more hunting for me.

  2. Reblogged this on The Lopsided Poet and commented:
    Emerson expressed that it’s interesting that nature provides both for the prey and predator, and roles exchange, nature provision again.

Leave a Reply

