• November 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • © 2013 Sigman Shapiro All Rights Reserved

Inventory – “Wardrobe” revisited

It is well known among poets that no poem is ever really finished. They are always at risk of being tinkered with unless, or until, they are “officially” published. That explains the following poem. Simply put, I didn’t like its previous manifestation, so I metamorphosed it into the following.

I would love to hear your opinion of the change. 🙂

Inventory

I have my reasons
my stories
the ones I tell
supposedly to others
but really
to myself
as if the telling
was enough
to make them true.
They complement
my answers
the ideas
that I wear
like old clothes
from a free-box
too tattered
to be suitable
too thin
for the coming cold

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

