• September 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • © 2013 Sigman Shapiro All Rights Reserved

Catching Up – Part 2

I learned something on this trip – it was foolish to think I could keep up with a blog while I was constantly on the move; never knowing what sort of internet access I would have on any day.  In addition, Italy (at least the parts we saw) was just simply overwhelming; so heavy with new sights, tastes, scents, sounds, ideas, that I was incapable of anything but dropping into sleep by the end of each day.

I will dig into the high points over the next few days; but, first, I feel bad that I left things on such a negative note in my last post. So today I will offer a list of the incredible positive experiences, that more than outweighed the negative.  Here is a list of a few:

  • My wife recovering from the flu in half the time it took me.
  • Our daughter going through it all with us, navigator, translator, and tour guide to ancient sites.
  • Our host in Sorrento, Marco Matano, a man of infinite patience and a true gentle man.
  • The beautiful temples at Agrigento
  • The amazing old city of Syracuse – one of the oldest and, once, one of the greatest cities of the world – older than Rome and still friendly and a pleasure to visit.
  • The municipal staff of the Comune d Augusta who welcomed us and went out of their way to find information on my wife’s family history.
  • Absolutely everything about Pompeii
  • Sipping lemoncello watching the sunset over the Tyrrhenian sea from the beach at Positano
  • Being caught in the jubilant crowds at the festival of San Mateo – the patron saint of Salerno
  • And so much more!

And more, much more to come.

6 Responses

  1. Looking forward to pictures of all of this!

  2. I thought you did a great job of blogging on the go and should consider being a travel writer!

  3. So glad you’re safely home, and hopefully both well. Eagerly looking forward to details of all your adventures!

Leave a Reply

