• September 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

  • © 2013 Sigman Shapiro All Rights Reserved

Catching Up – Part 1

I have a lot of catching up to do.  I’ll start with one word – flu.  We both have been violently ill.  I am not sure if it was a gift from the flight to Rome, or a bonus earned  by being packed like cattle into the Sistine Chapel with thousands of other folks, exchanging breath and bugs as we craned our necks to see the frescos (even more beautiful than expected).

Whatever the reason, Saturday night was a bad one for me; the first of four for me and the last time I tried to eat anything until Wednesday. By the time I boarded the plane to Sicily the next afternoon I was horribly ill. I guess that means I potentially contaminated the twenty or so folks scattered throughout the plane on the flight to Sicily; and that, right now, some of them might be cursing the plague dog on their flight who ruined three or four days of their vacation.

Everyone has bad periods.  Circadian rhythms swing up and down.  The whole universe is an infinite bundle of sine curves oscillating in an infinite number of wave lengths.  One key to  life is learniing how to surf the waves and reamin, relatively, steady.  The last few days have been one of my low skill periods.

I’ll give you some examples then leave this topic behinds us.

  • Driving into Trapani Sicily in the dark sunday night with no map and a high fever.  The streets are not labeled (a problem thrughout Sicily) and the B&B rep on the phone coould not speak english; so he could not have guided me even if I could have told him where I was.
  • Driving into Palermo Sicily the next day (heaven only knows why!) with a high fever (notice a pattern here?).  Getting impossibly lost in the maze of filthy, narrow, gridlocked streets.  Circling the whole reeking, garbaged strewn downtown (and several other less savory neighborhoods) three times before I found my way onto a poorly marked road that led me out of town toward Agrigento.
  • Running through the beautiful streets of old Syracusa looking for a farmacia to get something to help my poor wife who, unfortunately, joined me in my illness Monday night.
  • Racing down the autostrada past Mt Etna, trying to get to Messina in time to drop off the car and catch the ferry to Salerno; only to miss their open window by 25 minutes. Leaving the car parked on the street and dropping the keys in the slot; then racing off to walk the two miles to the ferry dock (since no one was at the office to call us a cab).
  • Sitting on the ferry and breathing a bit (we were the last passengers aboard and they were waiting for us with papers in hand) only to find that, in our rush to unload the car, I left behind my phone – the only one we had set up for international calling.

Ok, we’ll stop here – I’m starting to have an anxiety attack just recounting it all!

Next post I promise to get back to the (considerable!) good stuff.

 

 

7 Responses

  1. Adventure, it seems, comes in many different forms… Looking forward to more!

  2. Hi, I think your web site could possibly be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks
    fine however when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.

    I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!

    Aside from that, excellent site!

    • This is WordPress disliking IE 10 – never had any problems until I trusted Microsoft and let them push me to their “improved” browser (last time!)

  3. AHHHH! that is horrible!
    Second worst trip I have ever heard about. The one that has you beat is a honeymoon to Mexico that ended up as two weeks in a hurricane ravaged hotel with no water except one small bottle a day, no toilet flushing and showering.
    May the remainder be blissful.

  4. oh my! and they say travel broadens the mind! perhaps it does but not without wrecking the body it seems! Hope you’re recovered!

Leave a Reply

