• May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • © 2013 Sigman Shapiro All Rights Reserved

Movie Night

A few weeks ago we were having dinner with two dear friends when the subject of Japanese cinema came up (alright, I’ll admit it, I brought it up).  Anyway, the gist is, we discovered that our friends had never actually seen a classic Samurai film!  Needless to say, I took it as my personal duty to help them correct this situation.

Cut to our house last Saturday evening.  The table is se with rice bowls and chop sticks and sake bowls.  The counter is arrayed with sushi and rice, tempura and Korean-style short ribs.  After a hearty meal and plenty of wine (rice or otherwise) to get us in the right frame of mind, we headed down to the media room to watch Akira Kurosawa’s classic Seven Samurai.

It had been many years since I had spent the 3+ hours it takes to watch this black and white masterpiece.  I am happy to report that it has lost none of its luster.  The villains are still basely despicable; the heroes are still flawed and human, but decent and heroic nonetheless.

I won’t attempt to analyze Kurosawa’s masterly direction of crowds in action or his groundbreaking camera work and staging; plenty of others who are far more qualified than I am have done it already.

What made the experience wonderful for me after 5 or 6 viewings of this film was the rapt attention it drew from our guests.  I don’t know if they will become fans of the genre as a result of this experience, but I am certain they have had a proper introduction.

One Response

  1. Indeed a great movie and an inspiration for much more too. Well done for introducing it, I’m sure it was an evening they won’t forget!

Leave a Reply

