• May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • © 2013 Sigman Shapiro All Rights Reserved

First Friday Art Walk

I’m not sure I will ever get used to the weather here.  Two days ago I was moaning to you all about heavy snow so late in Spring.  Last night we were out with a group of friends enjoying a First Friday art walk through a neighborhood in the northwest corner of the city.  It was 50 degrees at ten o’clock and there was no sign of snow anywhere.  Amazing! 

Our winters are long and folks tend to stay relatively isolated indoors; so, once the weather warms a bit, people take every opportunity to get out and mingle.  There are a few small areas in the city where old commercial strips have been converted to neighborhood gathering points; full of restaurants, coffee houses, small shops and art galleries.  These areas draw the people out of their homes to stroll and mingle in the warm spring nights.

Exploring these small cities within the big city is a great way for a newcomer like me to get a sense of who the people are that live here.  In spite of all I have experienced in my life, I still find new ways to see the world when I explore the small galleries and shops.  Last night was no exception.

During the stroll I made two discoveries I want to share.  The first was a small storefront gallery with huge panels of bright color hung on the walls.  The gallery is dedicated the beautiful work of local artist T F Poduska .  

The second was Izumi Shikubu, a tenth century Japanese writer, author of the Tale of Genji, whose poetry I had never encountered before.

Three Poems by Izumi Shikibu

Watching the moon
at dawn
solitary, mid-sky,
I knew myself completely,
no part left out.

 

Even though
these pine trees
keep their original color,
everything green
is different in spring.

 

“In this world,
love has no color –
yet look how deeply
my body
is stained by yours.”

4 Responses

  1. Your district sounds wonderful! And I love those Shikubu poems, particularly the last one of the three.

  2. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

